Alva Review-Courier -

US approves disaster declaration for 18 Oklahoma counties


OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) — The Federal Emergency Management Agency has declared 18 Oklahoma counties as disaster areas following severe storms that pounded the state in April and early May.

Gov. Mary Fallin said Friday that the declaration means federal funding is available to the state, local governments and rural electric cooperatives for infrastructure repairs and costs associated with responding to the storm that struck between April 28 and May 2.

The storms caused extensive flooding in eastern and central Oklahoma and widespread snow and high winds in the Oklahoma Panhandle. Three tornadoe...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020