Fine for no seat belts in Kansas increases from $10 to $30
July 2, 2017
TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Drivers in Kansas now have more reasons to buckle up.
Starting Saturday, the fine for driving without a seatbelt increased to $30 from $10.
State lawmakers approved legislation in May to increase the fines for anyone 18 and older.
The extra $20 will go to a fund for the Seat Belts Are For Everyone program. That's an advocacy program working to persuade Kansas students to use seat belts.