Alva Review-Courier -

Broyles Award adds writers group, Spurrier and Stoops


August 27, 2017

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — The Broyles Award has added the Football Writers Association of America to its selection process, and named hall of fame coach and player Steve Spurrier and former Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops to its selection committee.

People with the award that honors college football's assistant coach of the year made the announcement Monday.

The writers association will announce the members of the award advisory panel later.

Spurrier was a Heisman Trophy winner at Florida and won 228 games as a college head coach. Stoops is the winningest coach in Oklahoma history with 190 victo...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021