Alva Review-Courier -

Tennessee mulls $250 1st-time fine to carry gun if no permit


NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — The Tennessee House has passed legislation that would lower the penalty to $250 for a first offense of toting a gun without a handgun carry permit.

The Republican-led chamber voted 72-20 Monday on the bill. The bill was amended to let officers decide whether to confiscate ammunition.

Republican bill sponsor Rep. Micah Van Huss said under current law, it's up to a $500 fine, confiscation of the gun and possible imprisonment.

Democratic Rep. Bo Mitchell said the bill would give people a pass for breaking state gun laws at a time when the country is mourning the death...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2023