Softball: SWOSU's Kim Maher Named GAC Coach of the Year; Bulldogs Have Four Earn All-GAC Recognition


BENTONVILLE, Ark. – SWOSU Softball tied a program record with four players named to the 2019 All-Great American Conference teams while head coach Kim Maher was named the GAC Coach of the Year. The conference announced postseason honors on Thursday evening in a banquet preceding the GAC Tournament.

Second baseman Samantha Householder was named a First Team All-GAC selection while sophomores Amanda Moreno (third base), Hannah Morris (shortstop) and Hannah Franklin (outfield) all earned honorable mention. Householder becomes SWOSU's first First Team All-GAC honoree since Adrienne Martinez and the Dawgs placed four on the All-GAC team for the first time since 2012.

Third-year head coach Kim Maher was named the GAC Coach of the Year after guiding the Bulldogs back to the postseason for the first time since 2013. After being picked to finish 12th in the GAC Preseason Poll, Maher's Bulldogs finished alone in seventh place with a conference record of 20-24, which is the most conference wins for SWOSU since the formation of the conference. With 21 wins overall, the Bulldogs had their most wins in a season since 2012.

Householder (Mansfield, Texas) picks up the second All-GAC honor of her career after being named an honorable mention selection at shortstop in 2017. She is just the sixth First Team All-GAC selection for SWOSU in eight years and the second Bulldog to earn multiple All-GAC honors. Householder set a new single-season school record with six triples this season while ranking second on the team with eight home runs and 37 RBI and fifth with a .318 batting average.

Franklin (Yukon, Okla.) picks up her first career all-conference honor after ranking third on the team with a .350 batting average while recording 35 hits, including nine doubles and four home runs. She started 33 games in the outfield, where she accrued a .935 fielding percentage and she drew 17 walks to give her an on-base percentage of .445.

Moreno (Moore, Okla.) is a first-time all-conference selection after a stellar sophomore season at third base. She set single-season school records for home runs (14) and walks (35) while ranking third in doubles (16) and RBI (39). Moreno leads the Bulldogs with a .356 batting average and she's stolen a team-leading 19 bases in 21 attempts.

Morris (Tuttle, Okla.) claims her first all-conference selection following a standout sophomore season at shortstop. She started all 53 games and matched Moreno with a batting average of .356 to lead the way for SWOSU. Morris has a team-high 63 hits, including seven doubles, five triples and three home runs while stealing 17 bases in 22 attempts.

SWOSU is back on the board with All-GAC selections in 2019 after being shut out from the all-conference team last season. The Bulldogs have now had 19 players earn All-GAC recognition over the eight-year existence of the conference. SWOSU opens up play at the GAC Tournament on Friday, taking on #14 Arkansas Tech at 12:30 pm on Friday in Bentonville.

2019 All-GAC Softball Teams (pdf)

GAC Player of the Year: Peyton Mills, Harding

GAC Pitcher of the Year: Sydney Wader, Southern Arkansas

GAC Newcomer of the Year: Sable Hankins, East Central

GAC Freshman of the Year: Tymber Riley, Arkansas Tech

GAC Coach of the Year: Kim Maher, Southwestern Oklahoma State


Pos. Name School Year Hometown

P Marissa Butler Ouachita Sr. Plano, Texas

P Megan Goodnight Arkansas Tech Sr. Greenbrier, Arkansas

P Sydney Wader Southern Arkansas Jr. Vilonia, Arkansas

C Franki Hull Oklahoma Baptist So. Tecumseh, Oklahoma

1B Mahina Sauer Southern Nazarene Jr. Mililani, Hawaii

2B Samantha Householder Southwestern Oklahoma State Sr. Mansfield, Texas

3B Sable Hankins East Central Sr. Moore, Oklahoma

SS Sarah Coronado Arkansas Tech Sr. Frisco, Texas

OF * Peyton Mills Harding Sr. Rockwall, Texas

OF Marcela Lopez Henderson State Jr. Wichita Falls, Texas

OF Ashton Sangster Arkansas Tech Jr. Van Buren, Arkansas

OF Gabriela Vasquez Arkansas Tech Sr. Lewisville, Texas

DP Elisa Favela Southern Arkansas Jr. Ewa Beach Hawaii

DP Tymber Riley Arkansas Tech Fr. Bentonville, Arkansas

UTL Megan Goodnight Arkansas Tech Sr. Greenbrier, Arkansas


Pos. Name School Year Hometown

P Victoria Taylor Southern Arkansas Jr. Greenwood, Arkansas

P Jenna Hipp Harding Fr. Rose Bud, Arkansas

P Abigail Leonards Arkansas-Monticello Sr. Crowley, Louisiana

P Michelle Sorensen Henderson State Sr. Sherwood, Arkansas

C Briley Feringa Harding Jr. Glendale, Arizona

1B Elexis Watson Southeastern Oklahoma State So. Muskogee, Oklahoma

2B Symphoni Shomo Southeastern Oklahoma State Jr. Tahlequah, Oklahoma

3B Caitlyn Curlee Southern Nazarene So. Keller, Texas

3B Patricia Loredo Arkansas Tech So. Fort Worth, Texas

SS Sarah Evans Southern Arkansas Fr. Bryant, Arkansas

OF Madie Green Henderson State So. Keller, Texas

OF Sydnie Henson Arkansas Tech Sr. Fort Smith, Arkansas

OF Kyndal Pirtle Harding So. Bixby, Oklahoma

DP Katie McCullar Southeastern Oklahoma State Jr. Red Oak, Oklahoma

UTL Mahina Sauer Southern Nazarene Jr. Mililani, Hawaii


Pos. Name School Year Hometown

P Kristen Dempsey Arkansas Tech Sr. Benton, Arkansas

P Bailey Shaffer Arkansas Tech Sr. Guthrie, Oklahoma

P Brooklyn Sparkman Southern Nazarene Jr. Kingfisher, Oklahoma

C Haley Godeaux Arkansas-Monticello Jr. Cecila, Louisiana

C Tarah Hilton East Central So. Haslet, Texas

C Laina Suesue Southern Arkansas Jr. Salt Lake City, Utah

1B Amanda Fields Harding So. Little Elm, Texas

2B Kalie Johnson Northwestern Oklahoma State Fr. Tecumseh, Oklahoma

3B Amanda Moreno Southwestern Oklahoma State So. Moore, Oklahoma

SS Hannah Morris Southwestern Oklahoma State So. Tuttle, Oklahoma

OF Tobi Finley Ouachita So. Sheridan, Arkansas

OF Hannah Franklin Southwestern Oklahoma State So. Yukon, Oklahoma

OF Kaytlyn Kizarr East Central Jr. Marlow, Oklahoma

OF Savanah Martinez Southern Arkansas Jr. Riesel, Texas

OF Kailee Sanchez Southern Nazarene Jr. Kapolei, Hawaii

DP Taylor Russell Northwestern Oklahoma State Fr. Durant, Oklahoma

UTL Haley Cornell Arkansas-Monticello Fr. Bentonville, Arkansas

GAC Elite Scholar Athletes:

Sydnie Henson, Arkansas Tech

Breecia Crawford, East Central

Mariah Ewy, East Central

Briley Feringa, Harding

Natalie Jackson, Ouachita

Stephanie McCann, Ouachita

Halley Ryburn, Ouachita

GAC Distinguished Scholar Athletes:

Bailey Bunch, Arkansas Tech

Ashley Maeder, Arkansas Tech

Bailey Shaffer, Arkansas Tech

Ashton Sangster, East Central

Ellanee Allison, East Central

Caitlin Kneblik, East Central

Amanda Berry, Harding

Madison Leggett, Harding

Peyton Mills, Harding

Marissa Butler, Ouachita

Faith Melton, Ouachita

Brittany Chantellier, Southeastern Oklahoma State

Gloria "Hope" Deande, Southeastern Oklahoma State

Symphoni Shomo, Southeastern Oklahoma State

Mykaela Wallace, Southeastern Oklahoma State

Abbie Dow, Southern Arkansas

Taylor Stricklin, Southern Arkansas

Jacey James, Southern Nazarene

Mahina Sauer, Southern Nazarene


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024