Alva Review-Courier -

Texas Gov. Abbott adds 8 counties to drought declaration


September 1, 2019

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has added eight counties to a disaster declaration because of ongoing drought in the state.

Abbott's office on Friday released a proclamation in which Abbott added Brooks, Nueces, Jim Wells and San Patricio counties in south Texas; Wilbarger and Wichita counties in northern Texas; and Briscoe and Castro counties in the Panhandle to a previous drought disaster declaration for seven counties.

The earlier declaration signed Aug. 23 includes Duval, Jim Hogg, Webb and Zapata counties in south Texas; and Hall, Randall, Swisher in the Panhandle.

The de...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020