Texas Gov. Abbott adds 8 counties to drought declaration


September 1, 2019

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has added eight counties to a disaster declaration because of ongoing drought in the state.

Abbott's office on Friday released a proclamation in which Abbott added Brooks, Nueces, Jim Wells and San Patricio counties in south Texas; Wilbarger and Wichita counties in northern Texas; and Briscoe and Castro counties in the Panhandle to a previous drought disaster declaration for seven counties.

The earlier declaration signed Aug. 23 includes Duval, Jim Hogg, Webb and Zapata counties in south Texas; and Hall, Randall, Swisher in the Panhandle.

The de...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020