Alva Review-Courier -

Shelite, Brackin tied in Freedom election


According to online election returns Tuesday night, Michelle Shelite and Shad Brackin are tied for the office of Freedom Board of Trustees, Office 3. Each received 45 votes or exactly 50 percent. In the case of a tie, the members of the Woods County Election Board set a meeting with the candidates. At that meeting the winner will be determined by lot. That meeting has not yet been set. Further details will be released at a later date.

Cindy Reed retained her position as town clerk-treasurer, defeating Natasha Elrod 47 to 43. Reed received 52.22 percent of the vote while Elrod had 47.78 percent.

In the Board of Trustees race for Office No. 1, Matthew Bixler is the winner with 48 votes with 53.33 percent of the total. Concha Herrera received 42 votes or 46.67 percent.

Kama Luddington was the winner in the Freedom Board of Trustees, Seat No. 2 election for an unexpired term. She received 56 votes or 62.22 percent with Myles Nixon garnering 34 votes or 37.78 percent.

Tuesday’s election results do not include provisional ballot results until after 5 p.m. Friday, April 9. Results are subject to contest and recount and are neither final nor official until they are certified by the appropriate election board.

Unless a contest of election or a petition for recount has been filed, results will be certified by county election boards not earlier than 5 p.m. Friday, April 9. Results of a race in which a contest of election or a petition for recount has been filed cannot be certified until the contest has been heard or the recount has been completed.

In Waynoka, Sharon Kopriva and Sidney Judd won in races for councilmembers. Kopriva received 48 votes or 64.86 percent over 26 votes for Austin Durkee for Ward 1 Seat 2. In the other Waynoka race for Ward 3 Seat 2, Judd won with 56.76 percent of the vote with a total of 42 votes to 32 for Brad Perot.

The City of Alva had five races on Tuesday’s ballot. Trent Goss retained his position as city treasurer with 67.54 percent of the vote. He had 491 votes compared to 236 for Heather Penner.

Daniel D. Winters retained his Ward 1 Seat 1 office against two opponents. Winters took 50.66 percent of the vote with 369. Justin Scribner had 281 votes for 38.65 percent of the total. Tim Bradley had 77 votes for 10.59 percent.

In Ward 2 Taylor Dowling won Seat 1 with 52.42 percent of the vote. He had 379 votes compared to 344 for Mark Nichols.

The new Ward 3 Seat 1 councilmember is Troy Brooks who took 52.62 percent of the votes with 381 over Dalton Beeler who had 343.

In the three-way Ward 4 Seat 1 race, all three candidates had over 30 percent of the vote. Greg Bowman won by seven votes, tallying 256 votes and 34.92 percent of the total. Blake M. Jordan had 249 votes for 33.97 percent, and Joe Parsons had 228 for 31.11 percent.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021