Alva Review-Courier -

Woods County will have a new treasurer in 2023


April 17, 2022

Woods County will have a new treasurer next year. Incumbent David Manning chose not to file. The only candidate for the office is Rachel Spellman-Hughes of Alva. She will take office in 2023.

Incumbent Renetta Benson of Alva was the only person filing for the office of county assessor. With no opposition, she will continue to serve in that capacity.

Two have filed for Woods County Commissioner District No. 1. Incumbent David Hamil of Alva filed on Wednesday, and Willie McKinley of Alva filed on Friday. Both are Republicans so that race will be determined in the June 28 primary.

Four individuals registered as candidates for Woods County Commissioner District 3. Incumbent John Smiley of Waynoka, Jim Hofer of Alva and John M. Evans of Waynoka have filed as Republicans so they will be appearing on the June primary ballot. A lone Democrat, Matthew Smith of Waynoka, also filed for office so that race won’t be decided until the Nov. 8 general election.

Only one person filed for Alfalfa County assessor. Jennifer C. Roach of Cherokee will not be facing an election.

Three filed on the Republican ticket for Alfalfa County treasurer. Donna Irvin, Shana Wells and Kelsi Claflin, all from Cherokee, have filed. The winner will be decided in the June primary unless no candidate receives a majority. Then the top two would be on the run-off ballot Aug. 23.

Both county commissioner races in Alfalfa County will also appear on the Republican primary ballots. Filing for District 1 County Commissioner are Jay Hague, Chuck Green, Tyler Mead and Garret Johnson, all of Cherokee.

Three have filed for District 3 County Commissioner. They are Nate Ross of Helena, Alton Jackson of Helena and Ron Nickel of Aline.

Several candidates for offices in this area are unopposed. Representative Carl Newton of Cherokee will retain his seat as state representative for District 58. Justin P. Eilers of Mooreland will continue as district judge for District 4, Office 1. Loren E. Angle of Burlington will continue as the associate district judge of Alfalfa County, and Mickey J. Hadwiger will still serve as associate district judge of Woods County. Christopher M. Boring of Woodward will also retain his position as district attorney for District 26.

There will be plenty of state candidates on the June 28 primary ballot. Thirteen Republicans have filed to fill the unexpired term of U.S. Senator Jim Inhofe. One Libertarian, one Democrat and one Independent are also running for that position.

U.S. Senator James Lankford, a Republican, will face two Republican opponents on the primary ballot. Six Democrats have also filed for that office as have one Libertarian and one Independent.

U.S. Representative Frank Lucas of Cheyenne will have two Republican opponents: Wade Burleson of Enid and Stephen Butler of Yukon. One Democrat, Jeremiah A. Ross of Bristow, has also filed for the office.

In addition to incumbent Kevin Stitt of Oklahoma City, three other Republicans have filed for governor. They are Mark Sherwood of Broken Arrow, Joel Kintsel of Oklahoma City and Moira McCabe of Oklahoma City. Two Democrats, Connie Johnson of Oklahoma City and Joy Hofmeister of Tulsa, have filed. Natalie Bruno of Edmond has filed on the Libertarian ticket while Ervin Stone Yen of Nichols Hills has filed as an Independent.

The lieutenant governor’s race will wait until the general election. Incumbent Matt Pinnell of Tulsa filed as a Republican, Chris Powell of Bethany filed as a Libertarian and Melinda L. Alizadeh-Fard of Edmond filed as a Democrat.

There are races for other state offices including state auditor and inspector, attorney general, state treasurer, superintendent of public instruction, commissioner of labor and corporation commissioner. However Glen Mulready of Tulsa, the incumbent, is unopposed for state insurance commissioner.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021