Alva Review-Courier -

Woods County 4-H celebrates members at awards banquet


August 12, 2022

4-H jacket winners are (from left) Addley Hanson, Kacey Woods, Klarc Gilchrist, Bode Smith, Brooklyn Riggs, Jack Wilson.

The Woods County 4-H Achievement Banquet was held on Aug. 5 to recognize the accomplishments of 4-H members who completed a record book for 2021-2022.

Ko Brooks of the Alva 4-H club and Davin Budy of the Waynoka 4-H club were given the Outstanding Senior Awards for the Woods County 4-H program. Trenton Welty and Jimmie Smith of Freedom 4-H were named the Outstanding Juniors for Woods County 4-H. Sponsors for these awards included Western Equipment, Core Bank, BancCentral and Wheeler Brothers Grain.

A 4-H jacket is awarded to all first-year 4-H members who completed a record book in one of the 41 project areas. Jackets were awarded to Alva 4-H members Klarc Gilchrist and Kacey Woods; Waynoka 4-H member Addley Hanson; and Jack Wilson, Bode Smith and Brooklyn Riggs of the Freedom 4-H club. Jacket sponsors include Woods County Farm Bureau, Dacoma Farmer's Cooperative Association, Pioneer Cellular and Joe Shirley Seed Service.

Each club chose a member for the Outstanding Club Member Award in 2022. This year's recipients were Thomas Mathes of Waynoka, Shay Wilson of Freedom and Ko Brooks of Alva. These awards are sponsored annually by Farmer's Union Insurance, American Farmers and Ranchers and the Brooks Agency.

Woods County OHCE sponsored the Woods County OHCE 4-H Participation Awards. These winners were chosen for their strong participation in Woods County 4-H events and activities in 2022. Participation awards were presented to Jimmy Smith from Freedom 4-H and Davin Budy from the Waynoka 4-H club by Paula McMurphy, OHCE county treasurer.

4-H project medals and certificates are presented to 4-H members who turn in a record book with work completed in their chosen project area. County medals and certificate awards were sponsored by the Woods County 4-H Volunteer Leaders Council.

Alva 4-H leader Amber Bosch and Paula McMurphy presented 4-H awards to: Kacey Woods – Poultry Certificate, Klarc Gilchrist – Citizenship Certificate, Reese McMurphy – Clothing & Textile Medal, Kase Martin – Health & Fitness Medal, Kaylen Woods – Public Speaking Certificate, Katelee Martin – Health & Fitness Medal, Avery McMurphy – Leadership Medal, Jansen Shirley – Goat Certificate, Torin Brooks – Shooting Sports Certificate, Ko Brooks – Shooting Sports Medal & Vet Science Medal.

Freedom leaders Ronna Wilson and Bryant Weber presented awards to: Jack Wilson – Wildlife Medal, Brooklyn Riggs – Food & Nutrition Medal, Bode Smith – Photograph Medal, Jimmie Smith – Shooting Sports Medal, Reagan Wilson – Beef Medal,Trenton Welty – Outdoor Education & Recreation, and Shay Wilson – Shooting Sports Medal.

Waynoka 4-H leader Debra Rankin and Danielle Budy presented the following awards: Davin Budy – Beef Medal; Thomas Mathes – Engines, Tractors & Equipment Safety Medal; and Addley Hanson – Goat Medal.

The Danforth Award was presented to Waynoka 4-H member Davin Budy. Budy received a copy of the book "I Dare You," by William H. Danforth, founder of the Ralston Purina Company who once said, "You have a four-fold life to live. A body, a brain, a heart and a soul – these are your living tools. To use and develop them is not a task. It is a golden opportunity."

The Darlene Like 4-H Community Service Award is given in memory of Darlene Like, a longtime Waynoka 4-H leader, to a 4-H member who has shown outstanding citizenship through community service. The 2022 Award was presented to Ko Brooks from Alva 4-H.

Record books are judged as part of the county fair awards. Placings are made according to the grade the member was in during the 2021-22 school year. Addley Hanson 3rd grade, 1st place; Klarc Gilchrist 3rd grade, 2nd place; Kacey Woods 3rd grade, 3rd place; Jack Wilson 3rd grade, 4th place; Reece McMurphy 4th grade, 1st place; Jimmie Smith 5th grade, 1st place; Bode Smith 5th grade, 2nd place; Reagan Wilson 5th grade, 3rd place; Brooklyn Riggs 5th grade, 4th place; Trenton Welth 6th grade, 1st place; Kase Martin 6th grade, 2nd place; Kaylen Woods 7th grade, 1st place; Katelee Martin 8th grade, 1st place; Shay Wilson 8th grade, 2nd place; Davin Budy 9th grade, 1st place; Jansen Shirley 9th grade, 2nd place; Avery McMurphy 9th grade, 3rd place; Thomas Mathes 10th grade, 1st place; Torin Brooks 10th grade, 2nd place; Ko Brooks 12th grade, 1st place. These awards were sponsored by Woods County 4-H Volunteer Leaders and Woods County Fair Board.

TOP LEFT: Debra Rankin, 14-year Waynoka 4-H leader, is the recipient of the Distinguished Volunteer Leader Award. TOP RIGHT: 4-H Outstanding Senior Members are (from left) Davin Budy of Waynoka and Ko Brooks of Alva. BOTTOM LEFT: Shay Wilson wins the Outstanding Club Member Award. BOTTOM RIGHT: Jarin Shirley receives the 4-H Senior Scholarship sponsored by the Woods County Volunteer Ladies.

Debra Rankin, Waynoka 4-H Club leader for 14 years is stepping away as leader and moving into a support role. The 4-H Parent – Leader Organization recognized Rankin with a special Distinguished 4-H Volunteer Leader Award for her years of time, effort and dedication to Woods County 4-H. The other Volunteer Leader award presented at the banquet was the Woods County Honorary 4-H Member Award that was presented posthumously to Grace Mathes of the Waynoka 4-H Club. Mathes was a dedicated volunteer who used her time and talents to enhance the 4-H program.

The program was conducted by the Woods County 4-H officer team consisting of Shay Wilson, president, Freedom; Vice-Presidents Reagan Wilson, Freedom, and Katelee Martin, Alva; Secretary Jansen Shirley, Alva; Reporter Davin Budy; and Thomas Mathes, recreation leader, Waynoka. The guest speaker for the evening was Austin Rankin. Austin challenged the group to search for community service opportunities.

Approximately 80 4-H members, parents, leaders, sponsors and guests enjoyed a catered meal by Zook Country Market located in Waynoka, sponsored by Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma, Bank of Freedom-Branch of Alva State Bank, Community Bank and Hopeton State Bank. Some of the guests and sponsors in attendance included Randy McMurphy, Woods County commissioner, and his wife, Paula; Troy Brooks; Chad Budy; Cody McMurphy; Roscoe Like and Karen Armbruster. Organizational leadership for Woods County 4-H clubs is provided by Amber Bosch, Alva 4-H; Bryant Weber and Ronna Wilson, Freedom; and Debra Rankin, Waynoka 4-H. The Alva 4-H club provided the decorations for the evening.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021