Seven Alva city officials to be elected in April 2023


November 25, 2022

At the Monday, Nov. 21, Alva City Council meeting, a resolution was approved to hold a nonpartisan general election next spring for the purpose of electing city officers.

Seven officials for the City of Alva will be on the ballot in the April 4, 2023, general election. The filing period for candidates will be from 8 a.m. Monday, Feb. 6, to 5 p.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2023.

Offices open for election include the mayor, city clerk, city marshal and four city council seats. Those elected will be serving a four year term to expire in 2027.

Currently serving in those positions are Mayor Kelly Parker, City Clerk Melody Theademan and City Marshal Jim Scribner. The city council positions are all for Seat 2. Incumbents are Dr. Garrett Lahr, Ward 1; Gail Swallow, Ward 2; Sadie Bier, Ward 3; and Randy Stelling, Ward 4. Of the four city council seats up for election, three were filled by appointment. Stelling is the longest serving member of the city council.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 05/28/2024 08:05