Alva Review-Courier -

By Karl Anderson
OU Communications 

National Champions Again!!!


OKLAHOMA CITY – For the second straight year, the third time in the last five years and the fourth time overall, the Oklahoma Sooners are national champions.

No. 10 OU (61-9) defeated top-seed Florida (58-10) Tuesday evening, 5-4, for a WCWS Championship Series sweep to claim the title.

With four crowns, only UCLA (11) and Arizona (8) have more championships than OU. Additionally, Oklahoma is just the fourth program to repeat as champions, joining UCLA (1984-85, ’88-91 and ’03-04), Arizona (1993-94, ’96-97 and ’06-07) and Florida (2014-15).

Four pitchers combined on the win as jun...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020