No cow needed: Oat and soy can be called milk, FDA proposes
February 22, 2023
Soy, oat, almond and other drinks that bill themselves as "milk" can keep using the name, according to draft federal rules released Wednesday.
Food and Drug Administration officials issued guidance that says plant-based beverages don't pretend to be from dairy animals – and that U.S. consumers aren't confused by the difference.
Dairy producers for years have called for the FDA to crack down on plant-based drinks and other products that they say masquerade as animal-based foods and cloud the real meaning of "milk."
Under the draft rules, the agency recommends that beverage makers label the...
For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.