Alva Review-Courier -

Beta Sigma Phi celebrates Founder's Day.


Beta Eta Chapter members attending Founder's Day were (from left, front row) ViAnn Wiersig, Thelma Crouch, Carolyn Gasaway, Lucy Rhodes, Joyce Egner, Cherie Lau; (middle row) Doris Roberts, Sherry Riggins; (back row) Linda Overson, Kate Moss, Charla Parker.

The 88th anniversary of Beta Sigma Phi International Sorority was celebrated by two local chapters at the annual Founder's Day Banquet held on April 30. Beta Sigma Phi is an international women's friendship network that provides educational programs to its members and opportunities for service to others. Members enjoy cultural and social events and donate to international funds and local worthwhile causes.

Xi Gamma Nu Chapter members attending Founder's Day were: (from left, front row) Wendy Jungman, Pam Jones, Linda Peterman; (second row) Joyce Bender, Linda Tutwiler, Becky Marshall; (third row) Jane Tucker, Linda Roten Barbara Case; (fourth row) Janet Jakubek; (fifth row) Ann Goll, Marideth Geroge, Fleta Reed; (top row) Peggy O'Neil, Ida Evans.

Members gathered at The Runnymede in Alva and enjoyed punch and visitation during the social period. A delicious meal, prepared by Sterling's Catering, was enjoyed by all. The program was provided by Kiley Feely, director of elementary music at the Alva Public Schools, who sang a beautiful medley of patriotic and inspirational songs.

Janet Jakubek, president of Xi Gamma Nu chapter and mistress of ceremonies, led the opening ritual. Carolyn Gasaway, co-president of Beta Eta Chapter, said the Beta Sigma Phi Grace. Doris Roberts, co-president of Beta Eta chapter, led members in repeating the Founder's Day Pledge. President Jakubek read the Message from International and announced the 2019-20 theme, which is "The Power of the Dream."

A review of the past year's activities was presented by each chapter, and perfect attendance awards were announced. Current officers for each chapter were recognized, and next year's officers were introduced. Honorees receiving the Girl of the Year Award were Linda Overton, Beta Eta Chapter, and Janet Jakubek, Xi Gamma Nu Chapter. At the conclusion of the banquet, President Jakubek led members in the closing ritual.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2020