Woods County 4-H holds awards banquet


August 13, 2021

Outstanding Junior/Senior 4-H Club Member Awards - (from left) Freedom 4-H, Gavin Stebens (junior), Freedom 4-H, Reagan Wilson (junior), Freedom 4-H, Shay Wilson (senior), Alva 4-H, Avery McMurphy (senior).

The Woods County 4-H Achievement Banquet was held Aug. 6 to recognize the accomplishments of 4-H members who completed a record book for 2020-2021.

Avery McMurphy of the Alva 4-H club and Shay Wilson of the Freedom 4-H club were given the Outstanding Senior Awards for the Woods County 4-H program. Reagan Wilson, Freedom 4-H, and Gavin Stebens, Freedom 4-H, were named the Outstanding Juniors for Woods County 4-H. Sponsors for these awards included Western Equipment, LLC, Alva State Bank and Trust Company, BancCentral and Wheeler Brothers Grain.

A 4-H jacket is awarded to all first-year 4-H members who completed a record book in one of the 41 project areas. Jackets were awarded to Alva 4-H members Reece McMurphy and Ko Brooks. Jacket sponsors include Woods County Farm Bureau, Dacoma Farmer's Cooperative Association, Devery Implement Company and Joe Shirley Seed Service.

Each club chose a member for the Outstanding Club Member Award in 2021. This year's recipients were Davin Budy of Waynoka, Shay Wilson of Freedom, and Ko Brooks of Alva. These awards are sponsored annually by Farmer's Union Insurance, American Farmers and Ranchers and the Brooks Agency.

The Woods County OHCE organization sponsored the Woods County OHCE 4-H Participation Awards. These winners were chosen for their strong participation in Woods County 4-H events and activities in 2021 Participation awards were presented to Reagan Wilson from Freedom 4-H and Davin Budy from the Waynoka 4-H club by Paula McMurphy, OHCE county treasurer.

4-H project medals and certificates are presented to 4-H members who turn in a record book with work completed in their chosen project area. County medals and certificate awards were sponsored by the Woods Co. 4-H Volunteer Leaders Council.

Alva 4-H leaders Pam Coffman and Amber Bosch presented 4-H awards to; Reece McMurphy – Beef Medal; Kase Martin – Industrial Arts Medal; Kayla Leeper – Childcare Medal; Kaylen Woods – Poultry Medal; Katelee Martin – Leadership Medal; Jansen Shirley – Vet Science Medal; Avery McMurphy – Public Speaking Medal; Kate Leeper – Goat Medal; Jarin Shirley – Dog Medal; Ko Brooks – Horticulture and Plant Science Medal and Poultry Medal.

Freedom leaders Ronna Wilson presented awards to: Raegan Wilson – Wildlife and Fisheries Medal; Gavin Stebens – Beef Medal; Trenton Welty – Wildlife and Fisheries Medal; Shay Wilson – Wildlife and Fisheries Medal.

Waynoka 4-H leader Debra Rankin and Danielle Budy presented the following awards: Davin Budy – Public Speaking Medal; Thomas Mathes – Shooting Sports Certificate; Novaly Medrado – Photography Medal.

The Danforth Award was presented to Alva 4-H member Jaydan Coffman. Coffman received a copy of a book, "I Dare You," by William H. Danforth, founder of the Ralston Purina Company who once said, "You have a four-fold life to live. A body, a brain, a heart and a soul – these are your living tools. To use and develop them is not a task. It is a golden opportunity."

The Darlene Like 4-H Community Service Award is given in memory of Darlene Like, a longtime Waynoka 4-H leader, to a 4-H member who has shown outstanding citizenship through community service. The 2021 Award was presented Kayla Leeper from Alva 4-H.

Record books are judged as part of the county fair awards.

Placings are made according to the number of years the member has been in 4-H.

2nd Year - 1st Place – Reagan Wilson; 2nd Place – Reece McMurphy.

3rd Year - 1st Place – Kase Martin; 2nd Place – Trenton Welty; 3rd Place – Gavin Stebens

4th Year - 1st Place – Katelee Martin; 2nd Place – Kayla Leeper; 3rd Place – Kaylen Woods

5th Year - 1st Place – Jansen Shirley; 2nd Place – Avery McMurphy; 3rd Place – Shay Wilson

6th Year - 1st Place – Davin Budy; 2nd Place – Thomas Mathes

7th Year - 1st Place – Kate Leeper

8th Year - 1 st Place – Jarin Shirley; 2nd Place – Novaly Medrano

9th Year - 1st Place – Ko Brooks. These awards were sponsored by Woods County 4-H Volunteer Leaders and Woods County Fair Board.

Woods County was represented by three members at this year's 100th anniversary of Oklahoma Roundup. Davin Budy and Thomas Mathers of Waynoka, competed in the communications event with Davin placing first in the Plant, Natural and Mechanical Sciences Speech contest and Thomas placed second in the Plant, Natural and Mechanical Sciences Digital presentation category. In the talent contest, Ko Books of the Alva 4-H club placed first in the Senior Division of the Original Performance Category.

Thomas Mathes was recognized at the banquet for represent Oklahoma at the National Shooting Sports competition held in Grand Island, Nebraska. Thomas qualified at the State Shooting Sports contest in April. Thomas competed in the Air Rifle division. He was coached by John Mathes.

The Woods County Honorary 4-H Member Award was presented to the Alva Farmers' Cooperative. Charlette Murrow, Alva Farmers Coop manager and Kevin Pingelton, assistant manager, have been long-time supporters of all Woods County 4-H events as well as sponsoring Agriculture seminars and programming of OSU Extension. The Alva Farmers' Cooperative recently made a significant donation to Woods County 4-H that was matched by a corporation grant.

The program was conducted by the Woods County 4-H Officer team consisting of Jayden Coffman, Alva; vice-presidents Sagelyn Budy (Waynoka), Shay Wilson (Freedom) and Avery McMurphy (Alva); Davin Budy, Secretary; Jansen Shirley, Reporter. The guest speaker for the evening was Max Parsons of 818 Diner. Parsons is an Alva 4-H alumnus that spoke on the importance of community service and goal-setting characteristics that you can learn through the 4-H program.

Approximately 80 4-H members, parents, leaders, sponsors and guests enjoyed a catered meal by Zook Country Market, located in Waynoka, sponsored by Bank of Freedom-Branch of Alva State Bank, Community Bank, Hopeton State Bank and Farm Credit of Western Oklahoma. Some of the guests and sponsors in attendance included Randy McMurphy, Woods County Commissioner, and his wife, Paula; Ashley Tucker; Troy Brooks; Dawn Gay Brooks; Chad Budy; Cody McMurphy and Roscoe Like. Organizational leadership for Woods County 4-H clubs is provided by Pam Coffman, Alva 4-H; Bryant Weber, Freedom; and Debra Rankin, Waynoka 4-H. The Waynoka 4-H Club provided the decorations for the evening.

If you have any questions, please contact the Woods County OSU Extension Office for more information, 580-327-2786.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024

Rendered 04/19/2024 20:55