Alva Review-Courier -

Three file for Alva School Board seat


December 10, 2021

Three candidates have filed for the Alva Board of Education Seat 2 position, according to the Woods County Election Board. Seat 2 is currently held by Jane McDermott who has filed for re-election. Lance Heaton and Ryan Beiswanger have also filed.

With three candidates, there will be a primary election on Tuesday, Feb. 8. If one candidate receives more than 50 percent of the votes, that candidate will be named the elected official. If no candidate received more than 50 percent of the votes, the two candidates receiving the highest number of votes will vie for the vacant position during the board of education general election on April 5, 2022.

Only one candidate each filed for Freedom and Waynoka. Phil Kirkpatrick filed for Freedom Board of Education Seat 2, and Travis George was the only person filing for Seat 2 on the Waynoka School Board. This means there will be no need for an election for those two boards.

Incumbent Terry Ryel of Cherokee filed to retain his seat for Zone 2 of the Northwest Technology Center board. He was the only candidate.

Filing closed on Wednesday at 5 p.m. However, Contest of Candidacy filings may be made up to 5 p.m. on Friday Dec. 10 and may only be filed by another candidate for that office.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 01/24/2022 15:54