Alva Review-Courier -

Alva High School Student Council earns national recognition


Mendi White, AHS

AHS Student Council members hosted the District 11 Student Council meeting earlier in the school year. Pictured are (back row, from left) Joe Parsons, Payton Jones, Carson Gaisford, Lexi Reihm, Cooper Sneary, Colby Mackey, Gabe Vasquez, Reece Martin, Kade Flores, Brickman Bradt, Garrett Ritter, Dawson Manning, Kaden Slater, Austin Reed, Kellen Bradford, Laura Anton, (middle row) Emily Barton, Aimee Chapman, Katherine Ryerson, Laura Maharry, Nora Scarbrough, Ryleigh Orcutt, Bethany Towns, Chloe Lehr, Rianna Clark, Laney Stewart, (front row) Jenna Maier, Delaney Lambert, Kylee Harzman, Jayden Coffman, Chloe Durkee, Sandra Fragosa, Tara Owen and Connie Ruiz.

For its exemplary record of leadership, service and activities that serve to improve the school and community, the Alva High School (AHS) student council has been recognized as a 2020 National Council of Excellence by National Student Council (NatStuCo).

"Receiving a National Council of Excellence Award reflects dedication on the part of the school to providing a strong, well-rounded student council program," said Nara Lee, National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) director of student leadership. "NatStuCo applauds the work of the National Councils of Excellence and challenges them to continue their leadership and service to their schools and communities."

In November, the AHS student council received the Gold Award from the Oklahoma Association of Student Councils during the state convention.

Last fall, Alva High School hosted the District 11 Student Council meeting. 2019-2020 AHS Student Council officers include Dawson Manning, president; Garrett Ritter, vice-president; Katherine Ryerson, treasurer; Delaney Lambert, secretary; and Emily Barton, public relations officer. Alva High School Student Council will hold the office district president for the 2020-2021 school year.

According to Dawson Manning, "We have accomplished so much this year as a council. We have done things in Alva that haven't been done in a long time. The council has worked so hard and I'm so excited to see what they can accomplish in the years to come. I have been truly honored to work alongside these students. We are going to keep up the amazing work as we wrap up this year."

The AHS student council meets weekly. The group plans homecoming events and service projects, and raises money selling T-shirts to all Alva students for events including the "Pink Out" football game and football and basketball homecomings.

Student council co-sponsor Dana Manning said, "What an amazing job the AHS Student Council did to earn the National Council of Excellence Award! Yes, we have the BEST kids in Oklahoma! Go Goldbugs! Thanks AHS Student Council for all your dedication and hard work."

"I think this honor of being chosen for the National Council of Excellence Award is indicative of this year's officers. This is one of many great things they have done this year, including hosting the District 11 conference for the first time in over 30 years. They strive for excellence and it shows! I'm very proud of them and all their hard work," stated Nick Bradt, student council co-sponsor.

To meet the requirements for the National Council of Excellence Award, a student council must meet a variety of criteria. In addition to basic requirements such as a written constitution, regular meetings and a democratic election process, the councils have demonstrated successful sponsorship and participation in activities such as leadership development and service to the school and community. Councils receiving the award have successfully met all required criteria based on standards established by the National Student Council.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021